Visual inspiration

I have been inspired by different mediums – logo, websites, UI, VR mocks up and exhibition set up. Researching these mediums allowed me to decide on how I wanted to approach my designs, as well as the overall theme.

Logo – I decided to create a illustrated logo based around an elephant. To make it standout I manipulated the shape of the elephant. The colours used stand out and grab the viewers attention automatically.

Websites –    https://www.vam.ac.uk/       |        http://www.tate.org.uk/

I researched museum websites because they often have exhibitions setup. I researched the V&A Museum and the Tate Museum. Both websites had a overall muted theme with a splash of pastel colours, as well as a simple yet sleek layout. This is the overall theme that I based the web design around. Including a two column grid and a navigation bar with icons. This chosen theme was carried throughout all the designs that I created.

UI Designs – https://www.behance.net/gallery/34398089/Mobile-app-for-the-WOW-exhibition

This app is helpful because it is for an exhibition. The colours used has inspired me to use the same for the app that I’m going to design. The colours are bold, yet not too shocking allowing a nice, eye-catching design. As well as design, it has also inspired me to include features such as rotation of  phone to take a selfie. Additional to this app, I have also researched the QR feature, which would be used in the exhibition to find out more information about Lizzie.

VR Mock-up –  https://www.behance.net/gallery/42429007/FREE-Virtual-Reality-Cardboard-Mock-up

Additional to the app, I have also created a VR cardboard mock up to pair with the app. I have seen an exhibition with this so I thought that it would be a good extra. Again, to keep the theme for all the designs uniform, the colours and logos are the same.

Exhibitionhttps://www.behance.net/gallery/45328441/Closed-Worlds

Although I wasn’t assigned the exhibition planning in my group. I still researched a few ideas and found the above, most appealing. The theme of the exhibition is futuristic and innovative. The exhibition presented each prototype as its own mini-world, this is something that we could do with the elephants.

Leave a Reply

